Efficiently automate

digital signing and printing processes of SAP documents

Read more

Digital Signature Software

Digital Signature Certificates or DSC or Digital Signature are being adopted by various government agencies and now is a statutory requirement in various applications.
For Statutory requirement, Digital Signature is mandatory for various government agencies.
A secure digital key issued by CA(Certifying Authority) which certifies that the identity of holder is called a Digital Signature Certificate (DSC). DSC has the information of identities like Name, Email, Country, APNIC account name and a public key. In order to ensure the security and authenticity of the documents filed electronically, there are provisions for the use of Digital Signatures as per The Information Technology Act, 2000.

Authenticity of documents: Digitally signed documents give confidence to the receiver to be assured of the signer’s authenticity. They can take action on the basis of such documents without getting worried about the documents being forged.

Class 2: Identity of a person is verified against a pre-verified and trusted database.
It is used in various form-filling, online registration, email attestation, income tax filing and etc. More uses of Class 2 Digital Signature Certificates are given below.
o MCA e-filing
o Income Tax e-filing
o LLP registration
o GST application
o IE code registration

Class 3: To prove the identity of the Person who applied the person needs to present himself or herself in front of a Registration Authority (RA).

It is mainly used in online trading and e-commerce, where a huge amount of money or highly confidential information is involved. Following are the main functions of Class 3 certificates –
o E-tendering
o Patent and trademark e-filing
o MCA e-filing
o Customs e-filing
o E-procurement
o E-biding
o E-auction, etc

The Certifying Authorities issue a Digital Signature Certificate with a validity of one or two years.
The digital signature is issued by a licensed Certifying Authority (CA), a person who has been granted a license to issue a digital signature certificate under Section 24 of the Indian IT-Act 2000.

The list of licensed CAs along with their contact information can be accessed from here

It includes the cost of UBS token which is a one time cost and the renewal cost after the period of validity.
Its free to procure DSC for company representatives and professionals as per the MCA portal. The issuance costs in respect of each Agency vary and are market driven.


• Applicants can directly approach Certifying Authorities (CAs) with original supporting documents, and self-attested copies.
• DSCs can also be obtained by using Aadhar eKYC based authentication and no supporting documents required in this case.
• A letter/certificate issued by a Bank Manager containing the DSC applicant’s information as retained in the Bank database can be accepted.
Physical documents are signed manually in the same way electronic documents, like e-forms are required to be signed digitally using a Digital Signature Certificate.
Digital signature is issued by a licensed Certifying Authority (CA). CA means a person who has been granted a license to issue a digital signature certificate under Section 24 of the Indian IT-Act 2000.
Yest its valid in a Court under the provisions of IT act 2000.
Class 2 and Class 3 types are valid for MCA21 program.
DSC of Class 2 and Class 3 category issued by a licensed Certifying Authority (CA) needs to be obtained for e-Filing .
Usually the time taken by CAs to issue a DSC may be from three to seven working days. Also on fulfilment of terms and conditions DSC is issued by some CA’s on same day based on eKYC for Aadhaar Holders.